52nd Annual State Conference of IRIA, AP State

By : Sanrad Medical Systems
Email: info@sanrad.in
Posted on: Saturday, November 10, 2012

The 52nd annual state conference of IRIA, AP state was organized at KREST, Hyderabad on the 13th and 14th of October, 2012. The annual conference attracted more than 200 delegates from all over the state.

The conference was held under the leadership of Prof Kakarla Subba Rao, Chairman KREST & Dr T Mandapal, President of IRIA, AP state with Dr N Eshwar Chandra as the organizing secretary.

The theme of this year’s conference was ‘Chest & Abdominal Radiology’

The scientific program included invited lectures from international, national and local faculty Dr Zafar H Jafri from Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine, USA delivered two lectures on imaging of renal cell cancers and imaging of diseases of ureter. He also conducted a very interesting and much appreciated ‘Sanrad Quiz’ for post graduates. Out of a total of 38 teams which had applied, 6 teams were short listed for the finals after a preliminary screening test. The radiology quiz cases included some common cases and some very rare and interesting syndromes and presentations. Dr Harsh Mahajan from New Delhi, Dr Bhavin Jankharia from Mumbai and Dr Arjun Kalyanpur from Bangalore were part of the distinguished national faculty.

Dr Arvind Chaturvedi, Director of Radiology at Rajiv Gandhi Cancer Institute, New Delhi delivered the prestigious ‘Roentgen Oration’ of IRIA, AP state chapter for the year 2012. He dealt at length on a common topic, ‘Imaging in Lung cancer – current standard’ which was widely applauded.

The scientific poster exhibition attracted over 40 good quality exhibits from student and senior delegates. Attractive prizes were awarded to the top 3 posters.

A small but elegant trade exhibition was organized wherein multinational and local companies displayed their products and gave information to the visitors.

Dr Harsh Mahajan, president of IRIA was the chief guest at the inaugural function on the morning of 13th October, 2012. An updated telephone directory of IRIA AP State, which was the result of painstaking efforts of Dr K Prabhakar Reddy, was released by Dr Harsh Mahajan during the inaugural ceremony.

Life time achievement award for the year 2012 was presented to Dr U V Krishna Murty for his unstinted support and longstanding active association with the organization. He is well known for his ‘radiological poetical skills’ and his presence is a must for all official functions of IRIA.

In the evening a felicitation program was organized to honor senior radiologists and trade partners.

Senior professors Dr R Venkateswar Rao, Dr C Hundiwala, Dr R P Deshpande, Dr Loka Pandurangam, Dr Sreedhar Marar were felicitated in the evening function. Members of trade who had a long association with IRIA, AP state, Mr KD Vakil, Mr Sreekant T, Mr DV Reddy, Mr Kannababu & Mr Vaidesh Harnoor were felicitated.